SuperMama and Los Twinguinos

Adventures of boy/girl twins and their nervous mom.

Is it Monday? June 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bigojos @ 2:00 pm

I think my brain has officially fallen out of my head. I am a walking brainless zombie. This past weekend was jam-packed full of visitors and entertaining and cooking/grilling, and not much sleeping.

One of my hubby’s closest friends came up on Friday to visit from NYC. I was thrilled to have him since none of our friends – other than local friends – have visited us since the babies were born. Actually, we haven’t really had ANY visitors since we left NYC 3 years ago. Kind of sad when I think about it. I guess it’s out of sight, out of mind!

Anyway, so we had Erik come up, which is always fun. He’s super funny and always entertaining, but that meant Dame stayed up super late hanging out with him. This translated to a passed out hubby when he came to bed so I was on my own with the kids. And with Erik’s visit came our local friends to see him so Saturday was chock-full of visitors. It was fun, but I also went to sleep later than usual. And unfortunately, some friends stayed too late and got too tipsy – forgetting that we have infants and keep different hours than we used to.

Then on Sunday we had Dame’s sister, husband, 2 small children, and aunt and uncle over! It was muggy and hot and everyone was physically uncomfortable. Then it poured rain and the kids were disappointed since we couldn’t go to the park, as we had promised. So instead they got hopped up on sugar and poked/tapped/grabbed at the babies for the afternoon. This was not fun for me, as I had to keep an eagle eye on the kids all day.

And to top it all off Paloma has gone from sleeping 7 hours straight to waking around 2am and taking hours to go back to sleep. It’s as if she thinks it’s playtime, squealing and giggling, kicking and laughing. It’s really cute for the first hour and then by hour 3 I am on the verge of tears. Actually, last night there were tears from me! Paloma woke up at 2am and didn’t get back down until around 5:30am – after Dame got up and put her in the bed with us. I just had had it and was exhausted and crying. She doesn’t even stay awake for a 3 1/2 hour stretch during the day. I just don’t understand. This new habit terrifies me since I am starting work in a few weeks. What if she does this when I need to go to work?

So today is going to be a tough one. I just drank some freshly juiced veggies, which I am hoping will give me a little extra oomph to take care of the kids. At the very least, I need the vitamins to compensate for my crappy eating and drinking from the weekend. I need to upload some photos of the kids, but right now I just need to sit on this couch and close my eyes for a minute since the kids are asleep…for now anyway.

 

Leave a Reply

