SuperMama and Los Twinguinos

Adventures of boy/girl twins and their nervous mom.

Mmmm…food June 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bigojos @ 3:31 pm

Blurg. I screwed up my order from Boston Organics, so I didn’t get the delivery yesterday. I was waaayy to excited for it too, running to the window every time I heard a truck drive by. Alas, I will have to wait until next Thursday for my delivery of fresh, organic produce. This means I’ll have to brave the crowds at Russo’s tomorrow morning. Double blurg.

Russo’s is a local produce shop that truly has every fruit or veggie imaginable, all at a great price. But there have been some things about the store that has bugged me lately. Nothing is organic, most of the stuff isn’t local, and WHY is it so cheap? I mean, really cheap. They must be underpaying someone, no? Oh, and it’s always so crowded that a fun shopping experience it does not make.  And I LOVE food shopping. Love love. Well, I’ll have to go one more time tomorrow as soon as they open and smile nicely at all the ridiculous people on cell phones and crowding the tiny aisles. Oommmmm.

I did manage to also sign up for a meat CSA. This makes me very excited! Once a month I’ll pick up 5 pounds of various types of meat (beef, lamb, chicken, pork) from a farmers’ market at $48 each time for 6 months. The animals come from a local, family owned farm that raises grass-fed/antibiotic free animals in a sustainable, humane way.

Now, I’m not a big meat eater, and Dame isn’t by default since we don’t buy it often, so it’ll be interesting to see how I’ll prepare it – especially the chicken since it’ll be a whole bird. Ugh, gross. I’ll definitely need Dame’s help with that one. I’ve been a vegetarian on/off since I was 16, even having a short-lived stints as a vegan and raw foodist. Nothing grosses me out more than bloody, boney meat. But I do enjoy the taste every once in a while, more so if I know where the meat came from and how well done it was cooked (or if I’ve been tipsy from alcohol).

Now that I have children, eating well has become so much MORE important to me. I’ve definitely been a conscientous eater for several years now, opting for organic and local when I could afford it. But now I feel like I’m on a mission to fulfill my motherly obligation of feeding my kids the best food possible. I define best food possible by organic, local when possible, minimally processed, and fair trade. I want my kids to enjoy long, healthy lives so I will give them a good start by giving them healthy foods.

This is all going to take lots of work! I’m purchasing meat and veggies in their natural state, which will require lots of prep work on my part and lots of cooking! It’s funny – I love cooking, but I’m not so good at it. I mean, I LOVE the way I cook – I cook to please my palate – but my hubby has never been a fan. He likes thinks less…cooked, I suppose. So I guess I better get better at the whole cooking thing. I hope my kids will enjoy my cooking one day! 

Speaking of feeding, I see my chubby girl stirring. Time to nurse!

 

One Response to “Mmmm…food”

  1. Mandey Says:

    I was a vegetarian for a year before I got pregnant and am slowly fazing meat back out of my diet. I just felt lighter and cleaner without meat. Not to mention I lost 5 or 6 lbs when I stopped eating it. Meals with meat come with lots of sauces and dips that add extra calories and fat.

    And I don’t really LOVE cooking, but when I do actually cook it’s not so bad and my hubby pretty much eats anything I make. I cooked dinner TWICE this week and made banana bread one day. It’s the most cooking I’ve done in months lol.


Leave a Reply

