SuperMama and Los Twinguinos

Adventures of boy/girl twins and their nervous mom.

Countdown Begins June 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bigojos @ 12:48 pm

I have 4 weeks left before I leave the little ones in daycare and head back to work. I’m very torn about this. On one hand, I’m looking forward to getting out of the house everyday and spending time with adults, using my brain, and being productive. On the other hand, I’m going to miss my babies! They’re just beginning to develop so much, and I don’t want to miss any of it. Bodhi and Paloma are now reaching for things. They are fascinated with shiny wristwatches and actually try to grab them. This is when all the fun begins…just when I head back to work.

I do worry about trying to balance everything. I know there are thousands of twin families out there who get up and out of the house every morning, but we haven’t done it yet and it seems very daunting! Getting the babies ready is a challenge on its own; now we have to do that, get us ready, drop off the babies, and get to work – and all on time!

Work will be a challenge as well. I’ve never rushed at work, always working as long as I needed to and never worrying about the clock. This is the first time we don’t live near a train so I can’t just grab the subway whenever I want. Dame and I are driving into work, so I do have an end time for work. This should be interesting. I suppose there will be days I’ll have to take my laptop home to finish projects.

By the time we get home we will only have a short window before the babies need to go to sleep. This is a bummer because we will have so little time to spend with them everyday. And this leaves little time to prepare dinner, lunch for the next day, and any ironing required for work clothes. I think it’s going to be all about getting everything prepped on Sundays. I’m thinking I’ll have to make batches of dinner and lunch on Sunday, as well as getting all my clothes ready for the week. This way, we’ll have the most time to spend with the babies.

It’s amazing how much organization and time management come into play with twins. It’s all about scheduling and juggling and planning. There’s not much downtime! I suppose writing in this blog is my way of taking a breather everyday. I do miss having more ME time, but I guess I had 33 years of me time.

Well, looks like me time is over as I can see the twins are getting up from their very short nap!

 

Leave a Reply

