SuperMama and Los Twinguinos

Adventures of boy/girl twins and their nervous mom.

Spring Cleaning June 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bigojos @ 1:14 pm

Spring is still here for another month or so, and I’ve gotten the cleaning itch. No, I am not talking about my house, though my house is in dire need of a good scrub (who has the time with twins?). I’m talking about my body.

Over the years I’ve learned a ton about cleansing/juicing/raw foods/macrobiotics. I’ve often given my abused body a break by feeding it whole foods and cutting out meats, alcohol, and tobacco. Well, I think I’m ready for another round.

Since I’m still nursing I can’t go on a strict cleanse since any toxins my body releases will likely show up in my breastmilk, so I will just add LOTS of good foods to my diet without going extreme. For example, I shouldn’t cut out my coffee in the morning, which would cause headaches and crankiness. I can cut back on the coffee, put in fewer scoops of sugar, and less half and half. I could probably cut out the coffee if I do it over a long period of time, but I’m not sure I’m ready to do this!

I figure if I overdose on fruits/veggies/healthy meals, I will feel much better. As it is, I am feeling physically pretty well. I do eat whole foods as much as possible, and since I am nursing I don’t drink and smoke like I used to. It also helps that I’m wearing size 10 jeans! Yeah, I discovered this yesterday. I can’t believe it. Even the waist is a bit loose. And I never wore these jeans before I was pregnant (the tag was still on), which makes me think they were too tight before?? This is all thanks to nursing – the weightloss. I’ve been walking but not everyday and eating well but not all the time. I’m still in shock that I gave birth to twins 3 1/2 months ago, and I am wearing a sixe 10! That feels awesome.

Yesterday I juiced some veggies – spinach, dandelion greens, beets, carrots, apple, and celery. It was actually really tasty! It was sweeter than I expected. Today I have in store a smoothie – banana, strawberries, blueberries, yogurt, and maybe some frozen pineapple. Yummy!

And within a couple of months the twins will be eating fruits and veggies. I am very excited to see them eat! I plan on making their food for them -none of that store-bought stuff for us. It’s very important that they get the healthiest food possible, and I plan on making large batches of their food and freezing it. I’m doing this with the help of the book, Super Baby Food. I might even invest in a small freezer. Between frozen breast milk and frozen baby food, there won’t be any room for Dame and me.

Yesterday I signed up for Boston Organics, an organic produce delivery service. I get my first shipment tomorrow, so I hope the produce is really good! The price is right, and I don’t have to do any work – I just get the weekly goodies. I am really hoping this works for us since it will save so much shopping time. I wish all the produce was local, but at least it’s all organic.

Ok, off to freeze some breast milk and make my smoothie!

 

Leave a Reply

