SuperMama and Los Twinguinos

Adventures of boy/girl twins and their nervous mom.

Return from Vacationland May 25, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bigojos @ 1:29 am

So the clan and I went on our first family vacation. Ok, it wasn’t a vacation per se, but it was our first trip as a family for an overnight stay elsewhere. It was my work annual retreat, which is more fun than work. This year we went to Chatham Bars Inn on Cape Cod, about 2 hours from Boston.

Since this was the first trip with the kids, I had no clue what to pack for the kids…so I pretty much packed everything – about 16 onesies, a dozen burp clothes, and a mass of diapers. Of course, what I needed most was long sleeved clothes since the coast was a bit nippy. Did I pack much of that? Nope. Our kids pretty much wore the same clothes all weekend. Thankfully, since there’s two of them they got to swap gender neutral outfits so the gray pants Paloma wore on Saturday were the very pants Bodhi wore on Sunday.

The weekend was pretty much about socializing with coworker friends I hadn’t seen since I went on bedrest back in January, eating lots of food I didn’t prepare myself, and enjoying some alcoholic beverages that I’ve not had in many, MANY months. All in all, it was great fun.

A big plus of the weekend was using a babysitter for the first time. The resort provided a sitter service that delivered to my room a nanny experienced with twins. I had been very nervous right until the moment Alissa introduced herself to us. She wasn’t a 16 year old girl, but a married woman with lots of experiece. She immediately put my mind at ease, asking the right questions and assuring me she knew what she was doing. Well, after leaving for 3 hours on Saturday night (I was a 3 minute walk away), I returned to our room to find our babies sound asleep. I was so relieved…and wish that woman lived close to us so she could sit for us all the time!

It wasn’t a very good weekend for dieting or exercise. In complete honesty, those things didn’t even cross my mind. That’s OK with me because the point of the weekend was to have fun and enjoy my friends and family. And boy did I ever!

 

Leave a Reply

