SuperMama and Los Twinguinos

Adventures of boy/girl twins and their nervous mom.

I’m practically a new woman April 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bigojos @ 3:50 am

Today was big day for me. Not only did I drive with the kids sans hubby, but I drove on the highway to a place I hadn’t been before (yes, with directions and all). Now this doesn’t seem like a big deal. It’s just driving.  Well, at the risk of sounding super lame, I am pretty intimidated by driving. Ugh, I am so lame…this requires some elaboration in order for me to not feel like an absolute moron.

Along with high school juniors across the country, I got my license when I was 16. I got to drive my mom’s Grande Prix a few times, but I always had to have it home by 10pm. My girlfriend got her license 2 months after I did and actually got her own car. Guess who drove for the rest of high school? Certainly wasn’t me in mom’s Grande Prix.

Then there was college where I never needed to leave campus – enough kids were going to the liquor store on a Saturday night that I only had to put in my order and fork over some cash.

After college I lived in NYC for years. The subway was my best friend. By this time my license had expired and I didn’t see the immediate need to renew it.

So see? I’m not totally lame. Just behind schedule is all.

But today I had to do it. I had to drive. Alone. On the highway! I signed up for a twin moms’ group at Isis Maternity, and I thought it important that I learn how to be independent with the twins. This required getting to the class. I was tempted to ask Dame to drop me off and pick me up, but he wouldn’t have done it if I asked. Even when I cried that I didn’t want to go and that I worried I was endangering the lives of our children, he still said I had to.

So off I went on an adventure with Los Twinguinos. I was a sweaty mess. The kids were asleep within minutes. I got slightly lost. I called Dame and cried about it. I showed up to the class 45 minutes late. But I did it. I was so happy and proud of myself. Of course, relief wasn’t mine until I pulled into the driveway of my house, but it came. Phew.

What ended up being the worst part in the end? The fact that when I got back to the parking garage after the class ended, I discovered that not only did I forget to lock the car, but I forgot to shut the car door. The door was open because I couldn’t bother to shut it. So in the end I determined that even though I drove our kids safely today, I can still be an absolute moron.

 

Leave a Reply

